Pushing the boundaries of copywriting

I’ve been writing marketing copy professionally for quite some time now, so I decided to enroll on the CIM (Chartered Institute of Marketing) Advanced Copywriting course to see what new skills I could learn and how I could develop my work further.

While it was a good course, it wasn’t as ‘advanced’ as I’d expected. Perhaps that was a blessing in disguise as it gave me the chance to see how far I could push myself – and the boundaries of the practical tasks – rather than staying within my usual comfort zone. So…

source: mhealthwatch.com

source: mhealthwatch.com

  • A case study about low-carbon product implementation (yes, really) became a story about men who wanted to become superheroes and save the world. It was all about going green, after all
  • Straightforward ad copy became an opportunity to play with three-part patterns and alliteration
  • And web copy gave me a chance to try out different writing personalities and re-write the same content in a multitude of styles

It may not have been the course I was expecting but it definitely wasn’t a waste of a day.

Sometimes, taking time out to simply experiment is exactly what you need. It helped me remember that pushing the boundaries isn’t just a way of improving your work, it can also be a lot of fun.

Leave a Reply

