Social media addiction – what’s the problem?

I’ve always found Guardian.co.uk to be one of the best places to read commentary about social media and a new post today about social media addiction by  is no exception.

The virtual Twitter me is so much wittier and more interesting than the real me

The main culprit, so David claims, is Twitter and I completely understand why. While Facebook is clearly very addictive with its lovely photo albums, funny status updates and stalker-friendly check-ins, it’s Twitter where news breaks first and you often find yourself feeling rather smug for knowing about things before everyone else.

That said, with the rise of social video, don’t be fooled into thinking YouTube is innocent in all of this. In my mind, YouTube will soon be the social network that will be the most difficult to banish from your life. Whether you like home videos, official movie trailers, how-to tutorials or big brand adverts, it’s all there waiting for you 24/7 and looking better on mobile devices than ever before (if something doesn’t look good on my iPhone, it’s just not going to keep my attention nowadays).

So, is social media addiction a problem? Perhaps. But as long as I can multi-task I won’t be checking into rehab for a long while yet.

Leave a Reply

