Coca-Cola gets personal #shareacoke

Every now and then a company rolls out something that is so simple but effective that you wish you’d thought of it first. That’s exactly how Coca-Cola’s new ‘Share a Coke’ campaign has made me feel.
 
In case you haven’t heard about it yet, they’ve introduced a range of bottles which feature 150 of the most popular names on the label and invite you to, for instance, ‘share a coke with Rebecca’.
 
I won’t deny I’m a bit of a Diet Coke addict and always have a cupboard stocked full of cans so when I saw my name on a bottle the sensible thing to do would be smile, maybe snap a picture, then walk away. But something about that personalised bottle was irresistible and so I bought it anyway.
 
Source: Facebook.com/DietCoke

Source: Facebook.com/DietCoke

I then also shared a picture of it on Twitter and got a great response from my followers who commented that they loved the campaign or hadn’t found their own bottles yet. I’m not the only one who got excited by a personalised bottle, either. My Facebook feed has featured quite a few photos of my friends’ own finds.

 
You’ve got to hand it to Coca-Cola. It’s a great idea, brilliantly executed and I’m sure it will boost sales.
 
Time for a Diet Coke break…
3 thoughts on “Coca-Cola gets personal #shareacoke

  1. Simple, clever and undoubtedly effective in driving sales and social media chatter in the UK, but also risky. This personalisation strategy may appeal to the 150 commonly named people in the UK, but this strategy could potentially be alienating some of its target market. After all, it wouldn’t be right for someone called Harry to drink a bottle of Coke labelled Share a coke with James. It’s not for Harry, its meant for James! Read more here http://wp.me/p3xnbj-29

Leave a Reply

