Professional qualifications: are they worth it?

I received an email yesterday informing me that I’d passed the CIPR Diploma. It’s something I’ve been working towards for the past year so I was absolutely delighted to have successfully finished!

But are these professional qualifications worth the time, money and commitment to study?

The Diploma is the highest qualification that the CIPR offers and is only open to experienced PR professionals or those who have already completed the Advanced Certificate. All sounds great, but will it help my career?

Well, it’s already benefited one of my classmates. Having been made redundant part way through the course, I was able to suggest some recruiters, put him in touch with contacts of mine and he’s now in a new role. So, new contacts are a definite bonus of professional study.

It’ll be interesting to see whether having the qualification makes a difference when I look to move on from my current role in the future but, for now, I’m still just feeling pleased as punch to have passed!

Leave a Reply

