April Fool’s Day PR

I always look forward to April Fool’s Day. Not because of the pranks and tricks, but because of the creative genius that I get to enjoy when companies embrace the opportunity to have some fun with April Fool’s Day adverts and PR.

I spotted a couple of great examples this year from BMW and ASOS:

BMW April Fool 2012 (Source: Sunday Times)

ASOS April Fool 2012

I had the chance to run a project specifically for April Fool’s Day this year but declined because I was concerned that it would only result in one day of coverage – but should I have considered that the opportunity for a big PR hit that could go viral could outweigh the advantage of a longer lasting news story? I think so. Maybe next year…

2 thoughts on “April Fool’s Day PR

Leave a Reply

