Do you live and breathe your brand?

Working in consumer PR there’s always lots of exciting events, campaigns and promotions to manage – and you often find yourself wishing you were just a regular customer so you could take part in them all!

Luckily for me (or unluckily, depending how you feel about it), I was given the opportunity to become part of Lakeside history when I was asked to take part in a photo shoot to promote the shopping centre.

Source: Lakeside Shopping Centre

This made me wonder how many PR and marketing professionals actually live and breathe the brands that they promote. I was proud to be featured in a Lakeside advertising campaign but I’m sure many of my peers wouldn’t be so keen to feature on some of their clients’ posters and websites…

Perhaps that’s the difference between in-house and agency roles. Working in-house you choose one particular brand that you feel strongly about whereas in an agency you work with a whole range of brands, some that you love and some you simply can’t. Is that view a bit harsh or could it be true?

4 thoughts on “Do you live and breathe your brand?

  1. I would say that is very true.

    I started in the business by promoting a brand that I was also directly employed by. I had come off of the production floor and I knew the ins and outs that went into producing the product, from mold development to final packaging. I knew the people who made the product and there personalities. I knew what went into each final product.

    I became very passionate about the brand because I had my roots in the company and its people. It translated to some very good promotional materials and ideas. I had no end of things to promote.

    Since I have begun promoting and marketing with TMS, I now deal with various new brands and products that I was not immersed in previously.

    There is still a personal stake in their success, but it is coming from a different perspective.

    I think the key is to get to know the brand and the people behind it. We all need to make a living, but this business at some point, does need to be relational, it cannot always be about the bottom dollar. Their is potential in finding points within a brand that you can relate to, because at the end of the day that will become a part of your brand strategy.

    I know that for us at TMS, thanks to our size and particular demographic we are able to spend more time getting to know the individuals behind the business. We get to know their products and the passion behind them. By doing this ground work and getting to grass roots with the clients we establish both a strong business relationship and a strong sense of how to promote the products and why. We come closer to the roots of their business, and what gives them passion – which helps us in turn in the promotional field.

    Of course you may get to know the product and the people and it may sour things for you. It is the risk you take.

Leave a Reply

