The new importance of video as a marketing medium

I encountered some new marketing tools last week that got me thinking about alternative methods of communicating a message to a particular audience. While I’m sure I will always fall back on the trusty press releases, opinion articles and case studies of my PR days, I’ve been expanding my marketing tool kit and appreciating how other methods can be just as effective at getting the message across.

For instance, I managed a video/animation project last week which will be used to enhance one of my client’s newly built event websites and support its associated social media campaign.

From digesting the original brief to communicating it to the new media designer assigned to the project, managing the client’s delivery expectations, ensuring amends were made and presenting the finished product, every step was part of a learning curve that brought me closer to understanding how and why marketing videos are so effective.

Who hasn’t watched a video on YouTube and shared it with someone else afterwards because they knew that a friend was equally as likely to enjoy it? For B2C marketing campaigns, I can certainly see the relevance and potential of video. A picture’s worth a thousand words, after all.

While it was difficult for me to shift my allegiance from words to pictures for the week, I’m sure that I’ll be eagerly awaiting the results of the week’s exploits.

Add to: Facebook | Digg | Del.icio.us | Stumbleupon | Reddit | Blinklist | Twitter | Technorati | Yahoo Buzz | Newsvine

2 thoughts on “The new importance of video as a marketing medium

  1. Hi Kagem, thanks for your comment. I think you have a very valid point and it just goes to show that all of the different marketing mediums available to us have their pros and cons.

    I’m sure that we’ll be seeing plenty more marketers embracing video this year as YouTube continues to dominate people’s time online, but perhaps only the high standard, glossy and authentic videos that you favour will have any real value in the long run. Only time will tell!

  2. This is going to sound very strange but I think video in itself can be a bit of red herring if not executed properly.

    Unless the quality of the video is made to a really high standard, then I don’t think that there is any point in video.

    The best example I can think of video as a marketing tool that works is how Bentley make these wicked videos showing the craftsmen and craftswomen who handstitch the leather interiors of Bentley cars.

    That to me is brilliant because it shows a prospective buyer a different look into the company from a different perspective, but again the video I watched was done to such a high standard, it looked glossy and felt authentic.

    I don’t think I’d be as inclined to watch videos that didn’t have high production standards but sadly everyone is obsessed with video.

Leave a Reply

